Germany’s ban on Nazi symbols

I do not agree with Germany’s ban on Nazi symbols because they are just symbols. Sure they represent something evil and a fascist government that murdered millions, but they are a part of their past and they must face it.  Banning them is stupid because it does not make the problems of Nazi Germany go away. I know that the left over in Germany call anyone who advocates this position as a “Nazi” but I am certainly not. The Nazi past is not something to be proud of, but we must remember it and banning its symbols serves no real purpose in my opinion because it happened over 70 years ago. On June 22, 2016, it will be the 75th anniversary of the invasion of the Soviet Union.  The Nazi ban is stupid because, like it or not, it cannot go away. It should be remembered. I am not okay with the part about banning Nazi symbols in video games because I am all for historical accuracy in a video game involving these symbols. I want to see swastikas on the tails of German planes because that was the fin flash that they used on their airplanes.  They used the German Kriegsmarine ensign on their U-boats and subsim.com has no problem with making mods with the Nazi swastika flag because it is what the Germans themselves used during this period.

I just do not see Neo-Nazis playing Silent Hunter III GWX mod with the swastika on it and if they do, well that’s their business.  Sure, this will get my blog banned in Germany and have the German government out attacking me, but I do not care.  It’s not like someone is gonna fly a Nazi flag in Germany. I do not want to see it, but banning it is stupid. There are Neo-Nazis in Germany, but they are a very small portion of the population.  The truth is like it or not, if someone wants to fly a Nazi flag from their house, then it is their perfect right.  This applies to Austria as well.  Germany and Austria should end the ban on Nazi symbols because the Nazi period is history. What about reenactors displaying the flag for historical purposes? I have no problem with that.  There is a retarded obsession that Europe has with Nazis and Nazism and Fascism in general to the point where the staunchest defenders of European culture on the right wing are labeled as fascists. Germany has been allowed to eviscerate and destroy their own culture to the point where anyone who is proud of German or Austrian culture is labeled as a Nazi. I support PEGIDA and their efforts to stop Europe from being taken over by Islam. I think that Europe needs to be proud of their history and their culture again. I think that the ban on Nazi symbols in Germany and Austria is stupid. I think that if someone does a Nazi salute in public that putting someone in jail for 6 months is harsh in my opinion because there are more serious matters and crimes that people should go to jail for, like attacking Jews or attacking synagogues or vandalizing them with swastikas. That is one think that I have a problem with. If someone flies a Nazi flag from their car, like people who fly the American flag from their trucks in America, then they should do that. The law has gotten to the point where if the rock band Kiss performs in Germany, that they have to change the SS runes in their logo (Gene Simmons is Jewish BTW, but I suppose that   Chaim ben Pesach would brand him a “self-hating Jew” right? to accommodate to German laws.

I just do not think that the ban on Nazi symbols is a good idea and it’s rather archaic i my opinion because the Nazis are long gone. They aren’t ever coming back. I do not care what kind of bullshit that the Russian media has been spewing about the Maidan protesters and participants and the Ukrainian government itself as Neo-Nazis in Ukraine. Ukraine is not Germany.  Germany and Austria should really seriously think about letting go of their Nazi past and ending the ban on Nazi symbols.  At some point, they are gonna have to realize that Adolf Hitler is dead and not coming back. The Nazis are dead and gone and the Neo-Nazis are a bunch of idiots that are a fringe on German politics and only a threat if they actually commit acts of violence against Muslims and Jews. They are a bunch of wankers. Hitler was a wanker! Yes, that’s right,he was one fucked-up wanker. I do not agree with the ban on Nazi symbols because the time when the Nazis ruled Germany and Austria has long since passed.

The neo-Nazis in Germany today are very small and they should not be taken seriously because they are a small part of Germany, but the Islamic terrorists are a deadlier threat because they are better organized and they commit acts of violence more than the neo-Nazis do. It’s time to let the whole Nazi past go and end the ban on Nazi symbols. It’s gotten to the point where game designers have to use the Balkenkreuz, instead of the Hakenkreuz in video games fot the German symbol. I think that as horrible as the Nazi past was, it should not be forgotten, but banning its symbols represses it. Germany and Austria should end the ban on Nazi symbols. We cannot ban it because that is so juvenile in my opinion. I think that people should freely express themselves and if someone walks around in a SS uniform, then that’s their perfect right.

End the whole ban on Nazi symbols today because the past is the past and banning it does not really solve anything.

About Justin Royek

I am a critic of Wikipedia that likes to remind people that there are other sources out there than Wikipedia and that knowledge isn't written by a bunch of anonymous nobodies on a blog dressed up as an encyclopedia that Wikipedia is. My name is Justin Royek and this is my personal blog/soapbox for different issues and many things relevant to my life. I am a polyglot that speaks about 10 languages. I am NOT Tim Doner or Benny Lewis or Christophe Clugston or any of those self-proclaimed "polyglots" on YouTube. I am my own blog. I am Justin Edward Royek. Patchman123 on Facebook and YouTube. I am Justin Royek. I AM A WRITER ON MANY ISSUES. I HAVE DECIDED TO CHANGE MY USERNAME ON THE BLOG.
This entry was posted in History, Personal, Reviews, Social Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Germany’s ban on Nazi symbols

  1. Victoria says:

    I agree that banning the symbol doesn’t make the idea go away in so far as their attempt to stop Neo Nazism, and I’ve always figured that if there are going to be hard core racists out there who can’t use a swastika, they’ll just use something else. But I would argue that it’s not really about trying to stop Nazism, its mostly like a big PR thing. I don’t think it makes Nazism seem like less of a part of Germany’s history, nor does it deter neo Nazis, it does however signal to the rest of the world that Germany is not supportive of the idea. The same happens with a lot of countries who have dark histories – there has to be an almost symbolic distancing from an ideology to prove that they’ve changed, and the easiest way to symbolically distance yourself from an ideology is to remove their symbolism. I don’t think it’s meant to be a genuine solution, its more meant to be a nod towards ‘yeah we don’t do that anymore’ kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

