Hey all you fellow Russian-speakers out there!

Hey Russian speakers,

have you ever had a problem with Oxford English dictionary and its bloated English upper-crust vocabulary not used by the average American, only to have your Russian phrase be contradicted by some movie by Hollywood that uses idioms for speaking Russian?

Have you ever had a problem with bloated dictionaries that do not explain words properly in a proper context?

Have you had a problem with dictionaries because they do not use enough American slang?

This is for all you fellow Russian-speakers (or speakers of any language out there, really.) that have common language barries with regular English-Russian Russian-English dictionaries out there.

I dislike Oxford English dictionary because it does not have the proper AMERICAN term for crawfish or crawfish tails in it. I plan to write a book on Russian geared towards the average American man, learning from English-Russian, American idioms and expressions not found in those bloated Oxford English dictionaries.

My friend Benny the Irish Polyglot has mastered the “human element” of language learning. Now, I have to apply hacks to learning Russian like he did with other languages and abandoning that clunky Oxford Russian dictionary for a more human speaker of Russian. Thanks to Italki, I can get more Russian speakers that can help with American idioms and slang, such as “I want a dozen donuts.” or “I want a Mexican coke.” (Mexican Coke is a popular beverage in the United States that is a real sugar soda made with real sugar down in Mexico that is imported to the United States in a glass bottle. I am NOT sure if it is available in Russia, though.” I think that in Russia, they already drink Coke with sugar anyway. Don’t they have HFCS in Russia?

I don’t know, though. I want to introduce on this blog some common American terms for different things like crawfish (where Oxford English dictionary is biased toward CRAYfish.) or Howdy y’all or How y’all doing?

They do not have y’all in an Oxford Russian dictionary. So, I have to learn from expert Russian linguists out there that have studied American terms and American slang and get their help in writing a book about commonplace American expressions and idioms in it. No profanities, though. I MIGHT write some, though.

If only I could write a book on the subject. The critics will blast it as “anti-intellectual” and “Street slang” and all that other bullshit, but that does not keep me down though.

So, how do you say in Russian “How y’all doing?” Or “Hey y’all watch this!?” The foreign language books that I have at my house are great for learning the basics like grammar and stuff, but lack the human element of basic idioms. Fortunately, my friend Benny the Irish Polyglot has a book out called “Fluent in 3 months” to address a lot of problems that people have had learning another language. I will not give up learning another language because I deeply love to learn another language and I know several, but the dictionaries are oh so frustrating!

Can anyone help me, out there?

IF anyone wants to help me with Russian, my Skype is Patchman123 and my Italki profile is there, too.

Thanks/Spasibo/Danke/Merci/Obrigado/Hvala/Grazie/Gracias

Historyblogcritic

This is some advise (advice British spelling.) for people out there frustrated with dictionaries and learning Russian from them. Learn from a native human speaker, like Benny does. IT always helps.

Thank you and goodbye.

Historyblogcritic.

About Justin Royek

I am a critic of Wikipedia that likes to remind people that there are other sources out there than Wikipedia and that knowledge isn't written by a bunch of anonymous nobodies on a blog dressed up as an encyclopedia that Wikipedia is. My name is Justin Royek and this is my personal blog/soapbox for different issues and many things relevant to my life. I am a polyglot that speaks about 10 languages. I am NOT Tim Doner or Benny Lewis or Christophe Clugston or any of those self-proclaimed "polyglots" on YouTube. I am my own blog. I am Justin Edward Royek. Patchman123 on Facebook and YouTube. I am Justin Royek. I AM A WRITER ON MANY ISSUES. I HAVE DECIDED TO CHANGE MY USERNAME ON THE BLOG.
This entry was posted in History, Humor, Personal, Social Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

