You Do Not Need to Put Time Constraints on Learning a Language!

I noticed that my friend Benny Lewis. (Benny the Irish Polyglot) likes to boast that you can learn a language in 3 months. Hence, his Fluent in 3 months blog. But this is not really the case because true fluency takes a lot longer than that and everyone works at their own pace when learning a language.
At least I do anyway. I prefer to work at my own pace, sometimes slow, sometimes fast, sometimes in between. I like to learn other languages how I want to learn them, not in 3 months. Putting time constraints just ruins language learning for me.

Putting a timeframe on learning a language is actually one of the WORST ways to learn a language, something that Benny should take a hint at. I like his self-styled approach to learning. Christophe Clugston’s approach to language learning is all about academic courses and learning the hard way, which is fine. However, there are people out there that cannot afford fancy teachers or college. I cannot afford university. I would love very much to go to university to study history or languages. I consider myself an amateur linguist, historian, and meteorologist, and a ham radio operator under the callsign of W3AGF, same as my grandfather Cecil.

I like to have amateur hobbies. Learning a language is one of my hobbies. I consider it to be a labor of love. I consider language learning to be a special thing. I consider language learning absolutely necessary to getting ahead in life. I consider language learning to be a fun pursuit. I consider language learning to be a passion of mine. I consider language learning to be an important pursuit that has a necessity. Benny is right about one thing though when he says that learning a language to impress somebody is actually the wrong way to go about it. He is right about that. I’ll agree with him there. Benny is off his own little world, like Christophe Clugston and Tim Doner. Clugston eviscerates Benny. I do not agree with his egotistical approach to criticizing Benny or Moses McCormick. Moses McCormick is an African-American polyglot who is known for learning 50 languages. It is great that people can absorb all these languages like SpongeBob, but that misses the point of learning a language. Learning a language is supposed to be fun. The majority of people that learn languages learn them for a reason, others for fun, but mostly out of necessity. DO not think that learning a language is something that you have to do. Just do it! Just work on it. Learning a language is not for everyone, especially for people that do not have very good memories on memorizing stuff. I have a very good memory on memorizing things and the nitty gritty technical details and how to take things apart and put them back together again and I have a great memory for being autistic, which helps me to greatly learn another language.

I find Clugston’s remarks about people with brains that are different supposedly not being able to learn a language because their brains are different from you or I, to be highly insulting. As someone with Asperger’s, I find his comments offensive and derogatory. I am a “retard” and I can learn a language, too. MR CLUGSTON! Mr. Clugston likes to boast of his ways of learning through the tried and true system because it claims it gets him results. Well, my mommy took French in High School through a language class and she still cannot remember what she was taught. Self-teaching helps you to learn at your own time and pace and helps you to get acquianted with the language, without a lot of fancy things to distract you. Learning a language should not be about traveling to different lands just to use a language. Do not learn a language just to use it. Learn a language when you NEED to use it for later when that time is right. Learn a language like you learned in kindergarten, through illustrated books and dictionaries and ALWAYS ask native speakers for help when you are not sure of something. There are always people willing to help you learn a language out there that aren’t total jackasses that want to see you fail and make fun of you because you speak badly or whatever. I speak Russian, Serbian, Croatian, Bosnian, Polish, Ukrainian, Italian, French, German, and some Spanish. It is about doing what is best for you. IT is about learning to do what is good for you. It is about having fun, not about hard work. Language learning is still work though. Everyone has to work sometime in their lives. Learning a language is still work. It is still work. Having faith in yourself and being confident about learning a language and not giving up easily is very critical in learning a language. Learning the grammar is critical, too. Learning to correct yourself is also critical to learning another language. Always think before you speak. Always say the right things, because if you don’t it could have disastrous consequences down the road.

Always learn to think before you speak. Thinking is critical when speaking a language. Thought processes help you learn and become more focused. You have to learn how to focus when learning a language. Someone like me with ADHD could learn another language. I was diagnosed with ADHD at an early age and I can learn another language. That proves Mr. Clugston that he is indeed very wrong.

Hard work is still critical. DO not be too critical of yourself and do not let other people rule your life and always listen to native speakers and not the jerks that insult you because you are bad or your pronunciation is bad. Always learn to communicate in a certain tone of voice. Do not yell at people. Do not frighten people. Do not be upset if people ignore you out on the street. Do not let that ruin your language learning experience. DO not let people take advantage of you, either. Do not let people take things from you. Always learn another key language. Eye contact is critical and so are tones of voice and so how people look at you when speaking a language. Always remember to memorize things! Always remember to have a conversation with yourself in the mirror of your bathroom, and remember what people might say to you out on the streets. Learn to pronounce slowly, then build it up where you can speak really fast. People out there in the real world speak really fast when speaking a language, especially one that is their native language. People always speak in idioms and slang. Things that do not literally mean what they actually mean. Yeah, people can be jerks out in the real world.

Benny Lewis and Christophe Clugston are jerks! They suck that they ignore an Asperger’s-Autistic polyglot like me that has so much to offer in terms of practical real-world experience that never travelled anywhere because he did not have the money to do so. I do not have the time or the money to travel. Unlike Benny, I am very cautious when I travel anywhere because that jackass taxi driver can literally drive you to the wrong place and deliberately get you lost in a bad part of town in order to get you robbed, just to see how you will do.

People in bigger cities take advantage of foreigners because they are perceived to have more money than they do because of the perceived idea that travellers are often rich and have money.

The Griswolds in National Lampoon’s European Vacation got taken advantage of by the locals. DO NOT LET THAT HAPPEN TO YOU! Not everyone can afford a European vacation. I cannot afford to travel to Europe or South America or Canada. I could probably afford to travel to Canada in the future. Canada is fairly close from where I live in Cochranton, Pennsylvania.

Canada is just hours away. I could drive there if I wanted to. I would LOVE to go to Canada! I miss the world! I have never seen the wider world! I have never travelled! One of my staff named Doris wants to learn Spanish because she travelled to Ecuador on a vacation trip from her church for missionary work. She has no love for Russians, but believes that Russia is a beautiful country because of the domed cathedrals.

I want to travel overseas. IS South AMerica really overseas? South America is attached to our continent through Panama. I guess South AMerica is overseas. Beavis and Butt-Head do South America, which is exactly what happened when Cornholio got onto a bus full of Mexican immigrants back to Mexico after being mistaken for an illegal alien by INS officials.
That was him rambling about Lake Titicaca and Nicaragua. They never went to South America, though. I could watch that Pablo Larrain movie called NO about Chileans voting NO to Pinochet as part of an advertising campaign in Chile by Gael Garcia Bernal’s character in the movie. I liked that movie. I have seen that movie before.

Allegheny College has a film festival every year involving foreign films like Populaire, Zwei Leben, NO, and Wadjda. I saw all the movies of the ALlegheny College Film Festival this year at the Movies in Meadville.

It was something truly wonderful to behold because it brought culture to Meadville and how foreigners see the world and stuff like that. It was a welcome change of pace.

I liked the film festival a lot. I liked it alot. I hope to go back next time.

Well, that is all I have to say FOR RIGHT NOW ANYWAY:

Goodbye i Doviđenja!

Historyblogcritic.

Ja volim srpski jezik. Ja sam Amerikanac poljskog porekla. I love the Serbian language and I am an American of Polish ancestry.

Remember when learning a language, Rome was not built in a day. So, don’t rush things.

About Justin Royek

I am a critic of Wikipedia that likes to remind people that there are other sources out there than Wikipedia and that knowledge isn't written by a bunch of anonymous nobodies on a blog dressed up as an encyclopedia that Wikipedia is. My name is Justin Royek and this is my personal blog/soapbox for different issues and many things relevant to my life. I am a polyglot that speaks about 10 languages. I am NOT Tim Doner or Benny Lewis or Christophe Clugston or any of those self-proclaimed "polyglots" on YouTube. I am my own blog. I am Justin Edward Royek. Patchman123 on Facebook and YouTube. I am Justin Royek. I AM A WRITER ON MANY ISSUES. I HAVE DECIDED TO CHANGE MY USERNAME ON THE BLOG.
This entry was posted in History, Personal, Reviews, Social Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

